Loading

Every photo will astound.
Every video will dazzle.

Hold in your hands an HD-SLR able to capture images rivaled only by those produced with a medium-format camera: extremely low noise, incredible dynamic range and the most faithful colours. Meet the Nikon D800, a 36.3 megapixel FX-format HD-SLR for professional photographers who require end results of the highest quality, who demand superior performance, speed, handling and a fully integrated imaging system. For cinematographers and multimedia professionals, 36.3 MP means true 1080p HD cinematic quality video and includes inputs for stereo microphones and headphones, peak audio meter display, DX crop mode to maximize NIKKOR lens selection and angle of view and much more.
FX
Format
36.3
Megapixels
4 FPS
Continuous Shooting
ISO 100–6,400
(Expandable to 25,600)
FULL HD
1080p at 30/25/24p

Reveal every nuance, every detail

The 36.3 megapixel FX-format advantage

Wedding, commercial or landscape, the D800 is the ultimate 36.3 MP FX-format camera for creative genius. Witness tonal range and precision rendered to supreme clarity, depth and texture. Make poster sized prints without sacrificing detail. Explore creative opportunities with ISO 100 to 6400 (expanded up to 25,600)—shoot from dawn to dusk. Experience Nikon's new Advanced Scene Recognition System featuring the 91,000-pixel RGB light meter capable of rendering unprecedented levels of accuracy to AF, AE, i-TTL flash control, face recognition and auto white balance. Nikon's new EXPEED 3 image processing reduces colour phase shifts seen with lesser systems, producing more faithful colours and tones while managing massive amounts of data at breakthrough speed. With the D800 in your hands, achieve what was once unreachable.

Broadcast quality video

A full cinematic experience

Filmmakers, multimedia professionals and event photographersrecord Full HD 1080p at 30/25/24p or 720p at 60/50p in AVC format. Produce to your exacting vision when working in manual mode, controlling aperture, ISO, AF and shutter speed. Record uncompressed files via HDMI to an external recording device. via HDMI. Widen production perspective using either Nikon FX or DX lens formats at Full HD 1080p and 16:9 aspect ratio. Attach headphones and check audio levels or monitor input via peak audio meters as displayed on the camera's LCD monitor. Microphone sensitivity can be adjusted in up to 20 steps. Remotely start and stop video. Simultaneous Live View on the camera's LCD monitor and external monitor during recording are possible.

Render every megapixel with precision

Fast, precise 51-point wide area coverage

Precise AF detection is critical to sharply render every pixel of the D800's massive resolution count. An improved 51- point AF system with 15 Cross Type AF sensors, versatile AF area modes and superb AF detection in even the dimmest lighting deliver immediate, pinpoint focus. Fast shot-to-shot time, full resolution frame rate up to 4 fps, 6 fps in DX crop mode and ultra fast CF and SD card write times. For more productive workflow, high-speed data transfer using USB 3.0 is realized. For demanding professionals, the D800 responds immediately and precisely.

Versatile shooting, fluid operation

Streamlined ergonomic design puts critical tasks a touch away

Intuitive design makes D800 operation a thing of beauty. A streamlined ergonomic body allows critical photography and video tasks, including Movie Record, Live View, White Balance and Picture Control to be performed at the touch of a button. Confirm image capture and view menu options, histograms, video settings and more using the D800's super sharp 3.2-inch 921,000-dot LCD screen with 100% coverage. Anti-glare coating and auto brightness control ease of viewing, no matter the environment. Enlarge images up to 46x for on-the-spot focus confirmation. Magnesium alloy construction and environmental sealing make the D800 as comfortable in the field as in the studio.
EXPEED 3 image processing

Nikon's EXPEED 3 technology extends and assures breathtakingly rich image fidelity and reduces noise, even at high ISO's. EXPEED 3 is so powerful that it handles data-intensive tasks such as Full-HD video recording at 30p with ease.

Rich image previewing

The D800's 3.2-inch super-sharp 921,000 LCD monitor automatically adjusts LCD brightness and visibility according to your environment for bright, crisp image playback, menu adjustment and Live View shooting. Enlarge images up to 46x to make on the spot focus confirmation—crucial for high resolution shooting.

Expand dynamic range with built-in HDR

Create a single image revealing an extremely wide dynamic range, but with less noise and rich colour gradation than ever before. Combine two exposures at up to 3EV.

Dedicated picture control button

The convenient Picture control button provides six preset options: Vivid, Monochrome, Neutral, Standard, Landscape and Portrait for stills and video while 9 customizable settings provide advanced, personalized colour control.

D800 and D800E

Which camera is right for you?

Every Nikon DSLR camera uses an optical low pass filter (OLPF) in front of its sensor to slightly blur the image at a pixel level in order to reduce the occurrence of false colours and moiré that can appear when shooting repetitive and/or fine patterns. For the vast majority of photographers the D800 provides an ideal balance between sharpness and effectively preventing moiré and false colour, ideal for shooting using all file formats. D800E is a specialized camera that removes the "effect" of the OLPF which results in a slight gain in sharpness and resolution and is recommended for studio and still life professionals but carries an increased possibility that moiré and false colour will appear.

Strikes an ideal balance between sharpness and preventing the occurrence of false colour and moiré for consistent performance
Ideal for:
  • All shooting situations
  • Photographers shooting RAW (NEF), JPG or TIFF images
  • Photographers who do not want to adjust their workflow (via software) to reduce the occurrence of moiré and false colour
Slight increase in sharpness and resolution with increased occurrence of false colour and moiré
Ideal for:
  • Studio, commercial and still life photographers who can control their shooting conditions, lens selection and aperture choice, as well as use of software (Capture NX2) to reduce the occurrence of false colour and moiré
  • Medium format photographers whose current digital system do not utilize an optical low pass filter
  • Shooting RAW (NEF)
  • More information on moiré Behind the Scenes: D800/D800E

D800 and D800E Image Comparison

Comparison of false colour and moiré

With the D800E, false colour and moiré may be noticeable when shooting repetitive and/or fine patterns.

Comparison of resolution

Compared to the D800, the D800E reproduces textures with slightly higher resolution for sharper rendering and greater depth.

What Else is Different?

Other than the very slight image quality differences described above, the D800 and D800E perform exactly the same. Focus speed, exposure metering, shooting speed, movie recording, accessory compatibility, control location and function, and all other aspects are identical.

Additional Features:
Standard ISO 100-6400, expandable to ISO 50-25,600 equivalent

Added ISO settings of Lo-1 (ISO 50 equivalent), Hi-1 (ISO 12,800 equivalent) and Hi-2 (ISO 25,600 equivalent) extend versatility.

Continuous shooting at up to 4 fps at full FX-format resolution

Commercial image quality teams with speed and handling to create new shooting possibilities—in the studio or on location. Shoot DX-format images up to 6fps using the optional MB-D12 Multi Power Battery Pack and batteries other than the EN-EL15

Rugged magnesium alloy construction

Effectively protected from invasive dust, moisture and tested to exceed 200,000 cycles.

Compatible with third party video accessories

As your multimedia work grows in importance, know that the D800 is compatible with a growing selection of third party video accessories.

High speed CF and SD dual memory card slots

CF cards compatible with UDMA6 as well as UDMA7 are supported. For SD cards, SDXC and UHS-1 are supported.

Two axis Virtual Horizon graphic indicator

Use either the LCD monitor or viewfinder to check if the camera is level—horizontally or with forward or rear rotation.

Rechargeable EN-EL15 Battery

Up to approximately 900 images and 60 minutes of HD video per charge.

Expand the creative potential of the D800

NIKKOR® lenses & Nikon Creative Lighting System for every situation

Uniquely compatible with both FX and DX-formats, tap an unprecedented selection of NIKKOR lenses. Explore NIKKOR Lenses

Get studio quality lighting virtually anywhere with the Nikon Creative Lighting System and Nikon Speedlights. Explore Speedlights

{%= nikon.tmpl_queue.add(function() { var nikon_vimeo = function nikon_vimeo() { var _public = {}; var _private = {}; _private.config = { apiEndpoint: "http://vimeo.com/api/v2/album/1974043", oEmbedEndpoint: "http://vimeo.com/api/oembed.json", vimeoUsername: "nikonvideos", videoParams: "&width=850&height=478&title=0&byline=0&portrait=0&color=ffdd00" }; _public.init = function () { var script_url = _private.config.apiEndpoint + _private.config.vimeoUsername + "/videos.json"; console.log('requesting: ' + script_url); nikon.ajax({ url: script_url, dataType: "jsonp", success: _private.setupGallery, error: _private.galleryError }); }; _private.galleryError = function () { console.error(arguments); }; _private.setupGallery = function (videos) { console.log('nikon_vimeo.setupGallery...'); console.log(videos); var img = nikon(''); img.attr('src', videos[0].user_portrait_medium); var headline = nikon("

"); headline.text(videos[0].user_name + "'s Videos"); _private.getVideo(videos[0].url); var video_list = nikon(".videolist"); for (var i = 0, len = videos.length; i < len; i++) { var html = ['', '
  • ', '
    ', '', '', '', '
    ', '
    ', '' + videos[i].title + '', '
    ', '
    ' + _private.formatTime(videos[i].duration) +'
    ', '
    ', '
  • ’ ].join(''); var thumb_item = nikon(html); if (i === 0) { thumb_item.addClass('active'); } video_list.append(thumb_item); } var thumb_anchors = video_list.find('.thumb-overlay a'); thumb_anchors.click(_private.events.thumb_click); }; _private.getVideo = function (url) { var script_url = _private.config.oEmbedEndpoint + "?url=" + url + _private.config.videoParams; nikon.ajax({ url: script_url, dataType: "jsonp", success: _private.switchVideo, error: _private.galleryError }); }; _private.switchVideo = function (video) { nikon(".embed").html(unescape(video.html)); }; _private.events = { thumb_click: function (evt) { evt.preventDefault(); var anchor = nikon(this); var thumb_item = anchor.closest('.thumb-overlay'); if (thumb_item.is('.active')) return true; thumb_item.siblings().removeClass('active'); thumb_item.addClass("active"); _private.getVideo(this.href); return false; } }; _private.formatTime = function (secs) { var times = new Array(60, 1); var time = ''; var tmp; for(var i = 0; i < times.length; i++){ tmp = Math.floor(secs / times[i]); if(tmp < 1){ tmp = '00'; } else if(tmp < 10){ tmp = '0' + tmp; } time += tmp; if(i < 1){ time += ':'; } secs = secs % times[i]; } return time; }; return _public; }(); nikon(document).ready(function() { nikon_vimeo.init(); }); }) %}

    Extend your Creativity and Capabilities

    Express yourself creatively with a wide range of accessories, including NIKKOR lenses, Speedlights, adapters, remotes, releases and more.
    Speedlights/Flashes
    Speedlights/Flashes
    Stereo Microphone
    Stereo Microphone
    NIKKOR Lenses
    NIKKOR Lenses
    Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
    4.4 5 213 213
    Professional quality with great features The only camera I need, The results are amazing .. such blended detail whether normal or macro photos, Movie detail is absolute professional quality. I use Nikon 18-300mm & 105mm Macro lenses most of the time. Thanks Nikon. December 18, 2012
    All I'll ever neeed in a camera D800 Couldn't be happier w/D800. Results I'm getting with it remind me of my Hasselblad 500c/m w/Zeiss lenses. Phenomenal IQ even using an older 28070 3.5-4.5 AF-D! MB-D12 is obscenely priced even w/price drop with no explanation from Nikon why it should be so much more than the others Nikon grips for other models. December 8, 2012
    Nikon D800e Excellent camera D800e I have ... I own Nikon F3t , F5 , D1 , D90 now D800e . November 27, 2012
    Superb I was able to take amazing images with a high power zoom in my safari tour recently using the D800. It works extremely well for me. Focus was fast, works well in low light. November 5, 2012
    D800e is 5Dmk III killer This by far the finest digital camera that I have ever used. I tried a D800 but ended buying a D800e so I never found any issues with the moire effect. I have used D800e on chrome grills at several car shows with moire effect. Another shot which blew me away was using a 25 year old 400mm f3.5 with TC-301 teleconverter of a lighthouse over 1km away. I was able to zoom in on the top of the lighthouse and you make out detail in the light bulb . I always shoot 14bit Raw and with the MD-D12 it appears to just as fast as my D300s using 14bit raw. The camera is very well balanced with grib and I found easy to hand hold my camera with a 300mm f2.8. I wanted upgrade my backup body with a second D800e shortly. The only possible negative issue to be aware of, make sure you have 64GB cards, 16GB cards just don't cut it. On a lighter note Costco's photo lab hates me I have been known to bog down their lab with huge TIFF files after working with photoshop. I found the battery life EN-EL18 to be Excellent, and I was shocked at being able to shoot over 2 weeks and 2,000+ shots. In the past I had to rent a 5D mk II for formal wedding portraits due my D3, D300s 12 megapixel. Recently I tested a Canon 5D mk III with 24-70mm f2.8 L series against my D800e with Nikkor 24-70mm F2.8. The Nikon D800e was hands down sharper, faster and had a better Auto Focus. I am very happy to that I have 50 year old Nikkor lens which work extremely well with the D800e. Its so nice to finally have 100% viewfinder with full frame sensor, and I am definately recommending the D800 to other Professional photographers. I don't require 11 frames per second of the D4, I just need the resolution. I mainly shoot wildlife with 300mm f2.8, 400mm f3.5, 600mm f5.6 800mm f8, and a 80-400mm On landscapes I love my 14-24mm along with a 24-70mm f2.8. Recently I have shot some amazing 1080p HD videos using my old 800mm Nikkor. I definately Love the Nikon D800e . November 3, 2012
    Extremely powerful, versatile camera! This is the digital camera we've been waiting for since the beginning of digital SLR photography. No compromise over sensor size, no compromise over resolution, good low light sensitivity, uses all 35 mm lenses, excellent dynamic range. The crop functions lets you use it with DX lenses or lets you save on data too. The camera focusses perfectly. I have used it to take group pictures of over 100 people indoors with only one external flash (low light, high iso, but lots of detail), holiday snaps, landscapes, and even to take promo shots for an industrial metal rock band while performing in a dark auditorium. The camera performed beyond my expectations in all situations. Superb battery life. You will need big, fast memory cards, a good computer, and start saving for better lenses. September 30, 2012
    D800: King of Multi-Media I have about 2K clicks under my belt with the Nikon D800 and I consider it to be one of those pivotal products that defines technology as it moves an industry forward. Never mind all the nonsense you have heard online by the detractors, this camera performs like not other. The IQ at 36mp is like nothing I have ever experienced before, it is so rich in detail and depth. Cropping becomes a breeze when you have such depth of detail, without losing any sharpness. My Nikon 105mm f2.8G VR on the D800 provides the same experience as driving a Ragtop on the Autobahn with no speed limit. The images are breathtaking. Viewfinder is rich in information and detail, the controls are pure Nikon, intuitive and easy to adjust to. The overall feel is exactly what you would expect from a Pro body, rugged and solid feeling. The LCD display is crisp and clear. There is a reason why you hear so much about the D800 and that is because it is everything you expect it to be. My experience out of the box has been exceptional and I do not doubt, yours will be too if you take the plunge. You won't be disappointed. For video buffs, the 1080p quality video the D800 delivers is also a very pleasant surprise. This too does not disappoint! I do have one major negative comment in this review and that is the price of the grip. I feel it is outrageous! A minor nit is the frames per second rate could have been slightly higher. These are the only two negative points I have to say. August 28, 2012
    D800 extreme clarity I have used X100 and D300s..then trade it to D800. The IQ is superb. The best MP small giant DSLR... July 16, 2012
    D800 VS. D4 I have both D4 and D800 and can tell you that D800 blows D4 out of the water for portrait photography. D800 is the best product nikon produced in years. D4 is only used for action photography and low light work, and D800 for everything else, especially portrait work Well done Nikon. July 13, 2012
    Best Purchase Ever I've been into photography for a few years now, and have been getting more serious and have been wanting to do so more as a career. So i've been on the search for a new camera that not only takes pictures but does video and my search ended here with the Nikon D800, i've only had the camera for a week but it is the best thing i have ever bought, the images are just stunning taken from this camera, and the video eve nthough just learning look amazing. If your thinking of upgrading look no further and get a D800. June 18, 2012
    Fantastic Camera All I wanted in a camera and more, well worth the wait, finally made me sell my MF system. March 28, 2012
    Debunking all myths I recieved my D800E in time for a two-week photo trek through Peru. It was intended to be used as a back-up to my D4, but it quickly became the go-to camera for portraits and lanscape shots. The camera perfomed wonderfully under all types of conditions. Unlike all the reviews I had read, this camera can indeed be: Hand-held at slow speeds instead of only being tripod mounted. Used at high ISO speeds with incredible detail. Used for shots involving a lot of textile and colors. If moire is an issue, stop down the lens a bit more and eliminate any concerns. The lenses most often used on this camera were the 50mm f/1.4 and the 16mm - 35mm zoom. I am attaching some photos and 100% crops to show detail. All are hand-held, speeds up to 1/90th and ISO between 200 and 800. May 7, 2012
    Just posting a nice Pic Daddy long legs (pholcidae) with D800 and 105mm F2.8. July 30, 2014
    Excellent Camera I have been shooting with this camera for a little over a year and am very happy with its characteristics. Excellent low light shooting and incredible detail. I have used it all over the world shooting wildlife as well as landscapes and people. I have added it to my D3x when traveling and especially like it on days that I don't want to carry around the weight of the D3x. Both of these cameras perform especially well when paired with high end Nikon lenses. The picture of the owl shown was shot at 8:00 in the evening with the D800, a 200-400 f4.0 lens, at 1600 ISO. Amazing color and clarity. Well worth the money. July 22, 2014
    Great Camera I went from a D3200 to the D800 and found it easy to learn. I use it with a Nikon 500mm F/4 super telephoto lens and love it. It recently developed a focusing issue and is currently in the shop at Nikon, forcing me to use my D7100. There is night and day difference in the two cameras, even though the D7100 is an excellent camera. My wish and advice for Nikon is to improve this camera by removing the ability to do video and concentrate all the electronics and image processing for still photos and maybe to increase the ability to shoot and focus a bit faster. I have never done a video with the camera and have no intention of doing one. I love outdoor photography and the resolution of this sensor is outstanding. The new D810 just looks like a D800 E to me with a different number. Make a camera for just still photography for us die hard camera buffs! June 28, 2014
    just I loved...... Awesome detail,perfect pic quality. Good features . April 19, 2014
    Amazing performer, sloppy QA A little background, I came here from a d5000 then a d7000 and now a d800, have been doing photography as a passion and as a profession for around 6 years. What to use it for: products, weddings, landscape, fashion, All around shooter for people who "KNOW" how to handle the beast. Or the learning curve will be steep and you might get disappointed quickly. What NOT to use it for: Pro Sports shooting or very fast paced action! (only for the modest burst rate) Let me break down the points; IQ: Superb. Enough said! The Image quality of this camera is quite amazing, it is extremely sharp, if you know how to use the tool and have good glass (not amazing, but good enough). Extremely useful (36 MP!!!!) for cropping or recomposing after fact and printing HUGE. ISO: Not very impressive, but in relation to the MP count and signal to noise ratios, it is well kept under control, The 6d and 5d 3 are way better even around ISO 800, but you sacrifice a lot in return. AF: auto focus system is quite amazing especially when in DX mode, as it covers mostly the entire frame! I haven't used it in complex situations much, but it sometimes lags in dim light, and that is to be expected to some extent. It also depends on the lens used for focusing speed. Battery performance: Not amazing, but adequate to my needs. Something you won't find out the easy way, the battery drains REALLY quick when plugged into the USB Port. This is apparently because the Camera stays ON the whole time it is connected, you could almost see the percentage falling . Nikon could easily work out a firmware update to fix such an issue I believe. Ruggedness: Very well built and sealed in a good manner, but nothing is perfect of course, on a fashion desert shoot the camera took quite a beating but the sensor also gained a few spots as well! Viewfinder/eye piece: bright, well placed, but not 100% comfortable to use, could be pumped out a little to help getting a more comfortable nose posture. What I like/ love: MP for large (I mean LARGE) prints, Dynamic Range, fine tuning control, Quality at low ISO. What could be better (personal preference): Controls layout (especially ISO button and Focus control), ergonomics, and ISO, Skin tones and colour reproduction is a little off for my taste, I prefer Canon's warmer skin tones, but Nikon's richer Dynamic range. What I dislike/ hate: Sensor was defective on my first unite (a complete vertical line of dead pixels), QA at Nikon is REALLY getting sloppy, if I face another issue like this with a Nikon product, I'm switching brands. Reliability is a MUST have when buying tools for business. I returned the unit and reseller will exchange it after inspection and after wasting a week of my time. How could this unite get out of the factory is beyond me! A unite aimed at hard enthusiasts to say the least should be inspected further in my humble opinion. Rating: 5 Stars for the very good balance between sensor size, Pixel count and Image Quality at this price range. The tool should not be punished for human mistakes at QA, should it?! ******Check your Camera and test it in in the Shop before you buy it.****** **A request for Nikon, PLEASE give us a firmware/ tool to do remapping of the sensor's dead pixels. So we don't have to SEND it to in or back to the store just to fix a couple of dead spots!** April 3, 2014
    Truly Great Masterpiece I have the habit of buying things as soon as they are released. Had F4,D70,D700, before I heard about D800. Was too excited and couldn't wait to own one. Got it last year and put to use. Compared to D700 was a little tough to master initially but after I got the hang of it, never looked back. The output of this camera is amazing. Great detail and colour rendition. Always use it without flash with very satisfying low light results. It is truly Nikon's masterpiece. My advice to new users is to try better Nikkor lenses (My most favourite is 70-200mm f 2.8 VRII) ,and see the results on a good high definition computer monitor to really enjoy the potential of this great camera. April 2, 2014
    Best Nikon with great versatility I have been a Nikon user since the Nikon F in the late 60's. This is my go to camera and has great versatility. In low light, control your breathing and increase ISO. It will handle all the lighting and action shots. I carry multiple cards and external drives as it does produce large RAW images so you need an efficient work flow process. I highly recommend this camera. March 24, 2014
    the best camera on the market! By far the BEST camera on the market! This camera meets 95% of my needs and expectations. I demand a large ergonomic body like that of the D2, D3, and D4. Together with the MB-D12 handgrip, my expectations are fully satisfied and met. The cameras focusing system is always tack sharp and flawless. It quickly and accurately focuses in very dim and poor lighting. 99% of my images are shot with some kind of strobe lighting. I needed a camera that was a mix between the D3x and D700, and the D800 has nicely delivered the performance of these two cameras. It yields the image QUALITY of the D3x, high ISO low noise capabilities of the D700, in a camera that is just impossible to beat! At ISO 6400 one can easily use the camera for a wedding! Using fast large aperture lenses the D800 is usable in ANY lighting situation! It boasts the highest dynamic range of any camera, giving it incredible contrast and detail in the shadows. Overall, this camera is by far the best camera on the market. February 26, 2014
    Excellent professional camera I used Nikon cameras back in the "film days" - for reasons, I went to "another brand" and contemplated coming back into the Nikon fold for some time. My work is mainly photojournalistic and event shooting requiring work in all light levels. I find that the Nikon lenses are far better than other products covering the same focal lengths. I am shooting with a D800, D600 and D300 coupled with Nikon lenses. In my opinion the metering and ease of use in each of these cameras is far better than that of the other product I had been shooting with. The D800 is an extremely versatile, easy to use camera - the images it produces far exceed my previous (pro) DSLR's. All of my camera bodies are equipped with the battery grip - I would highly recommend this addition to add to the versatility of the camera. Weight of the camera, grip and lens, in my opinion only adds to better images. February 12, 2014
    Great feel on the body I am a enthusiast, not a professional , but the amazing images that come out of this box are amazing, I am a business owner, but I will be moonlighting as a photographer because that's the insparation this camera gave me...AWESOME NIKON!!! February 9, 2014
    Neverending awe... I am not an expert; photography is not my trade / career - I am a very happy amateur consumer, as after I made the decision to purchase the D800 - I was absolutely convinced I made a profound right choice. I am persistently fascinated with the clarity, precision, attention to detail with the D800's ability to render images; no matter what lens, no matter what condition / situation!! I thought that snappin pix would be a fad I'd move through, yet the D800 won't let me do that - I am hooked, in passion, destined to be a photographer... Note: My sample images have not been exposed to any post processing with exception of signature / crop - all Nikon lenses used. enjoy "You gotta get this camera" Thank you Nikon February 6, 2014
    Stunning photos, incredible camera! While I would never attempt to call myself an expert photographer, I have been using various DSLR cameras since the Nikon D100, and frankly, the capabilities of the D800 are incredible. There are many sites across the internet that spend a great deal of effort to drag down the 36MP sensor, the clarity of the photos etc. Frankly if you try and use a tool for the wrong purpose, you cannot blame the tool when your efforts fall short. This camera takes incredible photographs. I would never use it for sports action photography, that is what my D700 is for. As far as the clarity of the 36MP sensor, if you try and take an ISO100 photo with a prolonged shutter duration, a tripod is an obvious requirement. That said, at faster shutter speeds, the D800 delivers remarkable clarity. Yes, there are those that will expand any given photo down to individual pixels and whine about sharpness, let them whine. The capabilities of the D800 more than speak for themselves. January 22, 2014
    Stellar! First, I started out with a Nikon D300 in college and then wanted full frame and went canon. Since then I have gone back in forth with Canon and Pentax, but something just wasn't right. I started reading reviews and it was filling my life. I then started looking at images on flickr shot with a Nikon D800 and I was just humbled looking at the images. There were amazing. So, I made the switch and since then have regretted ever switching. I guess I am better for it now though. The images I get from this camera are amazing. I love the grainy texture at higher iso. It feels more like film grain. The camera is very robust, but easy to hold for hours. The menu system is a menu system and no camera company has this 100% correct. I'm not a video guy so I could care less. I wish they would make the D800 without video and sell it for $500 cheaper. As, for the stills go; the crop modes give my creativity in more options. The file sizes are big but i see it as more room to work if I don't notice the mistake in camera. All-in-all if you are on the cusp as to buy the D800 or go with a d700/D610 I wouldn't look any farther than the best camera Nikon has ever produced for the price point. Go Nikon D800! January 9, 2014
    impressed with this camera I bought this camera primarily to use with my 28mm PC Nikkor f 3.5. This is probably the best lens that I own. It is a very good "test lens" to see what this camera can do. I've still been primarily using my FM2n and shooting chrome with this lens. This camera opened up a whole new world of perspective corrected photos as the DX format was just too narrow to use with this lens. I think that pros will be most comfortable with this camera vs. the D610. I thought about that choice for a long time and decided that I do need the extra functionality that this camera provides. You need to do a detailed comparison between the two in order to determine which is right for you and how you normally shoot. For me build quality also is important as I tend to shoot in harsh environments. I tend to buy a good one and keep it four or five years. If you buy a new one every time a new model comes out, then you need to factor that into the cost analysis i.e. costs about $ 1,400 per year to use this camera if you buy a new one every upgrade cycle. But on a four to five year upgrade cycle that I use, it makes sense and I am confident that it will be in operating just as well 4 years from now as it does now. You also will need to upgrade to the latest computer if you haven't already. But compared to the cost of a medium format back with similar resolution, it is a good deal. NOTE on the test photo. That is actually either a power line or some sort of lightening rode shown in the photo. This is a reconstruction photo after fire damage and wind damage from a storm was repaired. December 26, 2013
    The Bad Boy I bought this camera over a year ago. This guy is packed with features and delivers big time performance. If you put a sharp lens on this body the detail is second to none in DSLR terms. December 25, 2013
    I love this Camera! My first Nikon was the D200 and I was very disappointed with the low light capabilities (or should I say Lack of it). I waited to get a D700 but the market crashed and I had to wait. I just bought the D800 and I have been working with it for a week. It's the camera I always wanted. I highly recommend this! November 28, 2013
    Powerful, full-reatured D-SLR There is no question this is a state-of-the-art, powerful, full-featured, full-frame D-SLR, integrated into the full Nikon photography system of lenses, lighting, and accessories. The controls and menus are well designed and mostly how an experienced shooter expects them to operate. The resolution is un-matched, almost overkill for most lenses, and has all the features one could want for shooting the highest-quality stills and video. The color quality and dynamic range of the raw images is exceptional, allowing great shadow and highlight detail to be preserved in many cases without resorting to HDR. Detector noise is quite low (considering the pixel density on the detector), permitting shooting in very low light levels I'd like to see a couple of things improved or added in future high-end Nikon D-SLRs: it would be helpful to be able to lock up the mirror while in continuous shooting mode, and while shooting time-lapse sequences to avoid camera shake, keep audible noise to a minimum, and save power; the problems with timing when shooting time sequences with long exposures should be fixed; it would be nice to have an integrated wireless remote and GPS. October 19, 2013
    Nikon D800 is one great camera! Two words..WOW! and WOW! You have to see what beautiful photo comes out of this camera. I upgraded from a D90 & D7000. You can't be leave the difference. The ease of use of this camera is fantastic. You got to add one to your camera bag! October 18, 2013
    Page:2 3 4 5 ... 8
    <<prev | next>>

    Product Registration

    Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
    Register your product online now.